© 2022 WYSO
Our Community. Our Nation. Our World.
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Miami Valley Voters To Decide On School Levies Tuesday


Miami Valley voters will decide on a slew of tax levies for schools Tuesday. Across the Miami Valley, opponents of levies, especially new or additional ones, are saying they can’t take on extra property taxes. On the flip side, many school districts say they’ll have to cut programs, limit busing, or lay off staff to make slimmed-down budgets work. Read about some of the issues here.

And it’s not just school levies. In Montgomery County, Riverside has a half a percent income tax to support general operations, and Trotwood and Perry are both asking for support for emergency services. Over in Clark, the county’s asking for new funds for developmental disabilities, and a renewal for mental health services.

Across Greene County there are several city and county services levies up for votes, including Greene County Memorial Hospital and Greene County children’s services.

Both Xenia and Dayton are voting on electric aggregation.

WYSO’s full list of school levy issues is below. Check back Wednesday, Nov. 6 for results.

Miami Valley School District Levies on Ballots for November 2013 

County: School district name (purpose; type; millage rate)

Butler County: Fairfield (facilities ; additional; .50), Middletown (facilities; additional; .26), Lakota (operating; additional; 5.50)

Champaign County: Triad (one levy for operating expenses, one for improvements; renewal and new; .01), Graham (permanent improvements; renewal; 1.50), Mechanicsburg (permanent improvements; renewal; 5.00) Urbana (permanent improvements; renewal; 3.50)

Clark County: Northeastern (current expenses; new income tax; .01%), Clark-Shawnee (avoid a deficit; additional; 7.59), Tecumseh (emergency; additional; 12.37)

Clinton County: Clinton-Massie (current expenses; new income tax; .01%)

Greene County: Beavercreek (emergency; additional; 6.30), Yellow Springs (permanent improvements; renewal; 1.20)

Miami County: Troy (general improvements; renewal; 1.10)

Montgomery County: Brookville (current expenses; additional; 4.80), Centerville (emergency; additional; 5.90), Huber Heights (current operating expenses; additional; 5.95), Jefferson Township (current operating expenses; renewal; 5.50), Kettering (current expenses; additional; 4.89), Oakwood (current expenses; additional; 5.75), Vandalia-Butler (current expenses; additional; 6.99)

Preble County: Eaton Community (current expenses; renewal income tax; 0.75%), Tri-County North (current expenses; new income tax; 1.00%), Twin Valley (current expenses; new income tax; 0.75%)

Warren County: Lebanon (building and maintenance; additional; .50), Franklin (current expenses; additional; 7.92), Springboro (emergency; renewal; 8.78), Wayne (current expenses; renewal; 14.05)