© 2024 WYSO
Our Community. Our Nation. Our World.
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Speeches from the 2012 Dayton Literary Peace Prize

Dayton Literary Peace Prize/Anne Rasmussen
Dayton Literary Peace Prize/Anne Rasmussen

In this special presentation of the 2012 Dayton Literary Peace Prize award ceremony, you'll hear from authors who have been honored for advancing peace through literature including Adam Hochshild, Andrew Krivack and Tim O'Brien, recipient of the Richard C. Holbrooke Award for Distinguished Achievement.

The Dayton Peace Accords ended the war in Bosnia in 1995 and the Dayton Literary Peace Prize was created as a response 11 years later. It's the only international literary peace prize in the United States. It honors authors from around the world for fiction, non-fiction and lifetime achievement. The event was held on November 11, 2012 at the Schuster Center in downtown Dayton.

Juliet Fromholt is proud to be music director at 91.3FM WYSO. Juliet began volunteering at WYSO while working at WWSU, the student station at her alma mater, Wright State University. After joining WYSO's staff in 2009, Juliet developed WYSO’s digital and social media strategy until moving into the music director role in 2021. An avid music fan and former record store employee, Juliet continues to host her two music shows, Alpha Rhythms and Kaleidoscope, which features studio performances from local musicians every week. She also co-hosts Attack of the Final Girls, a horror film review podcast.