© 2021 WYSO
Our Community. Our Nation. Our World.
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
WYSO Names New Music Director (click here for more)
Local and Statewide News

Incumbents Joseph And Shaw To Remain On Dayton City Commission

Dayton City Commissioners Matt Joseph and Chris Shaw
City of Dayton
Matt Joseph and Chris Shaw have been re-elected to the Dayton City Commission

In the race for Dayton City Commission, incumbent candidates Matt Joseph and Chris Shaw have maintained their seats on the commission. Both candidates receiving more than 6700 votes apiece. 

This marks Shaw's second term on the commission and Joseph's fifth. Jospeh and Shaw recently proposed an amendent to the Dayton city charter to allow city firefighters to volunteer in other communities.  Dayton voters overwhelmingly passed the amendment Tuesday.

Wright-Patterson Air Force Base logistics specialist Shenise Turner-Sloss received more than 5800 votes while small business owner and community activist David Esrati received almost 3000 votes.