© 2021 WYSO
Our Community. Our Nation. Our World.
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Local and Statewide News

Tuesday Special Election To Decide Who Takes Boehner Congressional Seat

vote election voters
Flickr/Creative Commons

The race to fill John Boehner congressional seat will be decided after Tuesday's special election.

Three candidates emerged from March’s high-profile primary election: Republican Warren Davidson, Democrat Corey Foister, and Jim Condit, Jr. who is running under the Green Party banner.

15 candidates vyed for the GOP nomination back in March. Davidson says it’s been difficult to generate interest in the race since then.

The winner of tomorrow’s special election will complete Boehner’s term, which ends in January. They’ll also be eligible to run for a full-term in November.

Boehner first won the congressional seat in 1990 and stepped down last year. His heavily-Republican 8th House district spans six counties containing northern Cincinnati suburbs, working-class cities and rural areas.