© 2023 WYSO
Our Community. Our Nation. Our World.
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

2014 Dayton Literary Peace Prize Winners Announced

Dayton Literary Peace Prize/Anne Rasmussen
Dayton Literary Peace Prize/Anne Rasmussen

The winners of the Dayton Literary Peace Prize for fiction and non-fiction have been announced and it was a big year for women writers.

Each year, Dayton Literary Peace Prizes are awarded to authors who’s stories center on peace, and social justice. Author Bob Shacochis will pick up the best fiction award for “The Woman Who Lost Her Soul.” It's a novel that ties together catastrophic events in four countries over a span of fifty years—leading to the U.S. war on terror.

But Sharon Rab, the peace prize founder and co-chair, says he's the only man taking home this year's prize.

“Four of our five winners are women and there are lots of connections between and among the books this year that I think will be fascinating for people to explore,” Rab said.

The best non-fiction award will go to Karima Bennoune for her book, "Your Fatwa Does Not Apply Here" in which Bennoune shares the stories ofMuslim writers, artists, activists, and others “who risk death to combat the rising tide of religious extremism in their own countries.”

Jo Roberts was named runner-up for nonfiction for her book “Contested Land, Contested Memory: Israel’s Jews and Arabs and the Ghosts of Catastrophe", while first-time novelist Margaret Wrinkle was named the fiction runner-up for “Wash.”

And in July, organizers announced that author Louise Erdrich will receive this year’s Richard C. Holbrooke Award for lifetime achievement. 

All the winners will be honored at a ceremony hosted by award-winning journalist Nick Clooney in Dayton on Sunday, November 9th

Jerry Kenney was introduced to WYSO by a friend and within a year of first tuning in became an avid listener and supporter. He began volunteering at the station in 1991 and began hosting Alpha Rhythms in February of 1992. Jerry joined the WYSO staff in 2007 as a host of All Things Considered and soon transitioned into hosting Morning Edition. In addition to now hosting All Things Considered, Jerry is the host and producer of WYSO Weekend, WYSO's weekly news and arts magazine. He has also produced several radio dramas for WYSO in collaboration with local theater companies. Jerry has won several Ohio AP awards as well as an award from PRINDI for his work with the WYSO news department. Jerry says that the best part of his job is being able to talk to people in the community and share their experiences with WYSO listeners.
Related Content