© 2022 WYSO
Our Community. Our Nation. Our World.
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Arts & Culture

Wendell Berry Honored at Dayton Literary Peace Prize

Dennie Eagleson

Kentucky-based writer Wendell Berry was honored as the 2013 winner of the Richard C. Holbrooke Distinguished Achievement Award as part of the Dayton Literary Peace Prize at a ceremony last night at the Schuster Center.  Other honorees included Adam Johnson in fiction for The Orphan Master's Son and Andrew Solomon in nonfiction for Far From the Tree.  Berry was presented his award by last year's honoree, Tim O'Brien.

WYSO will air a special presentation of speeches from the 2013 Dayton Literary Peace Prize, including Tim O'Brien's introduction of Wendell Berry, on New Year's Day at noon and 8pm.