© 2023 WYSO
Our Community. Our Nation. Our World.
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Red-Light Cameras Activated At Two Dayton Intersections

traffic camera red light camera
Robert Couse-Baker
Flickr/Creative Commons

The City of Dayton is activating traffic cameras at two more sites Monday. A total of five intersections within city limits are now camera monitored.

Red-light cameras have officially been activated at the intersections of James H. McGee Blvd and Third Street and Linden Avenue and Smithville Rd. Violators will be issued warnings for the first 30 days after activation. After that, $85 citations will be issued by mail.

Speed cameras are already operating at three other city intersections:

  • North Gettysburg Avenue at Fairbanks Avenue (two speed cameras)
  • North Main Street at Siebenthaler Avenue (one speed camera)
  • South Keowee Street between East Third Street and East Fourth Street (two speed cameras)

City officials announced plans to bring back the traffic camera program last Spring. Dayton’s original program was shuttered in 2015, after the state enacted strict new regulations. Those rules were shot down by the Ohio Supreme Court in 2017.
Today’s camera activations are the last on the city’s list for now.  Dayton officials say traffic crashes resulting in injuries are down from last year. 432 injury accidents have been reported this year, compared to 516 reported by this time last year.