© 2024 WYSO
Our Community. Our Nation. Our World.
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Montgomery County Results: Matt Joseph Holds Onto Dayton City Commission Seat, Joined By Chris Shaw

Unofficialresults from Montgomery County's elections are in, and Democratic City Commissioner Matt Joseph has held onto his seat. Chris Shaw is other winner, taking over a seat vacated by Commissioner Dean Lovelace. Shaw was the other candidate endorsed by the Democratic Party, and ran on a platform of promoting business and development. 

In other Montgomery County news, a five-year levy for Sinclair Community College passed with 54 percent yes votes. And Montgomery County joined the rest of the state in rejecting Issue 3, which would have legalized recreational and medical marijuana in the state. Almost 60 percent voted no in Montgomery County. 

The Dayton School Board race was extremely close, with the unofficial count showing Sheila Taylor, Robert Walker and John McManus as the winners. Incumbent Nancy Nerny trailed behind with just 123 fewer votes than McManus.

Most local levies passed, with the exception of Miami Township's additional 2-mill roads levy, Jackson Township's .6-mill additional levy for current expenses, and the City of Union's request for a renewal and 1-mill increase of a roads levy.
Turnout was low, as expected, with just 39.11 percent of voters reporting to the polls.

Related Content