© 2022 WYSO
Our Community. Our Nation. Our World.
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Local and Statewide News

Dayton's New Mayor To Be Sworn In

Dayton’s new mayor will be sworn in today.  Nan Whaley will take the reins from outgoing mayor Gary Leitzell.

After serving as city commissioner for 13 years, Whaley steps into the mayor’s office with a plan she says will increase jobs and bring business back to the city.

In November, Whaley won against fellow democrat A.J. Wagner in one of the most expensive mayoral races in Dayton’s history.  She pulled in more than 9000 votes, or 56 percent.

Meanwhile, outgoing mayor Gary Leitzell’s accomplishments include starting a recycling program that he says now pays for itself. His "Welcome Dayton" plan designating the city as immigrant-friendly was well-received by most residents.

The departing mayor says he isn’t leaving local politics; he’s planning a run against incumbent Dan Foley for the Montgomery County Commissioner seat in the next election.

Whaley will be sworn in at 10 a.m. Monday at the Dayton Convention Center.