© 2021 WYSO
Our Community. Our Nation. Our World.
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Local and Statewide News

Steinem To Receive Dayton Literary Peace Prize

Tom Marks

Gloria Steinem will receive an award from the organizers of the Dayton Literary Peace Prize.

The author and activist will accept the Richard C. Holbrooke Distinguished Achievement Award at a ceremony in November. It’s the group’s highest honor.

Sharon Rab is the founder and co-chair of the Dayton Literary Peace Prize. She says Steinem’s work has influenced generations of women, including Rab herself.

“With the feminist movement, I saw so many changes as a teacher. Where girls began to feel empowered, and it was really a dramatic thing. And Gloria’s voice was a constant part of that change for me, so I have appreciated her all of my life,” she said.  

Studs Terkel, ElieWeisel and Tim O’Brien have also received this lifetime achievement award.

The gala honoring Steinem will take place in Dayton Nov. 1. It’s one of a series of major events commemorating the 20th anniversary of the Dayton Peace Accords, which ended the war in Bosnia.

The winners of four other prizes for fiction and non-fiction writing will be announced Sept. 30.