Our Community. Our Nation. Our World.
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Ohio Names Wright State, UD "Centers of Excellence"

Wright State University and the University of Dayton are among six universities recognized as "Centers of Excellence" by the state.  It's part of its plan to promote innovation and develop Ohio's economy.

It almost seems like science fiction-lasers that detect biological weapons; digital imaging that can identify a person from miles away, and mini spy vehicles that are modeled after dragonflies. But this is the research happening at colleges and universities across the state.

"In southwest Ohio, in the field of aerospace, you've got GE aviation and Wright Patterson, and UD and Wright State. It's a real powerhouse in that corner of the state," says Eric Fingerhut, the Chancellor of the Ohio Board of Regents.

There are six "Centers of Excellence" categories. This is the fifth that's been announced and it focuses on aerospace, transportation and logistics. Fingerhut says that the universities in the group will meet together to discuss their work, and the state will issue reports on their progress. Fingerhut says he hopes this collaboration will be good news for Ohio's economy.

"It's amazing how many new opportunities for research or scientific breakthroughs come from simply the interaction of scientists and scholars in related field, and finding those areas of overlap between them," says Fingerhut.

He adds that they have not yet scheduled the first meeting between the universities involved, but says he hopes it will happen in the next six months.