© 2023 WYSO
Our Community. Our Nation. Our World.
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

LISTEN: Speeches from the 2022 Dayton Literary Peace Prize

Juliet Fromholt
Clint Smith, recipient of the 2022 Dayton Literary Peace Prize for nonfiction, speaks at the awards ceremony at the Schuster Center.

The Dayton Literary Peace Prize was founded in 2005 - ten years after the Dayton Peace Accords ended the war in Bosnia. The prize honors authors from around the world for fiction, non-fiction and lifetime achievement.

In this special presentation, you’ll hear from the 2022 winning writers in each category:

  • Clint Smith, nonfiction winner for How the Word Is Passed: A Reckoning With the History of Slavery Across America
  • Honorée Fanonne Jeffers, fiction winner for The Love Songs of W.E.B. Dubois
  • Wil Haygood, winner of the Ambassador Richard C. Holbrooke Distinguished Achievement Award

Learn more about the Dayton Literary Peace Prize at https://www.daytonliterarypeaceprize.org/

Juliet Fromholt is proud to be music director at 91.3FM WYSO. Juliet began volunteering at WYSO while working at WWSU, the student station at her alma mater, Wright State University. After joining WYSO's staff in 2009, Juliet developed WYSO’s digital and social media strategy until moving into the music director role in 2021. An avid music fan and former record store employee, Juliet continues to host her two music shows, Alpha Rhythms and Kaleidoscope, which features studio performances from local musicians every week. She also co-hosts Attack of the Final Girls, a horror film review podcast.